Agreement Signed In London

With France having tabled its ratification instruments on 29 January 2008, the agreement came into force on 1 May 2008. [2] The London Agreement, formally known as the Agreement on the Application of Article 65 of the Convention on the Granting of European Patents and sometimes also under the name of the London Protocol, is a patent law concluded in London on 17 October 2000, which aims to reduce the translation costs of European patents granted under the European Patent Convention (EC). [1] The London Agreement is an optional agreement between the Member States of the European Patent Organization[1] and has not changed any other language requirements for European patent applications prior to issuance. On August 8, 1945, the United States, England, France and the Soviet Union signed the London Agreement. The London Agreement charter has become the basis for trials before the IMT in Nuremberg. In the summer of 1945, Robert H. Jackson and his team, including his son William E. Jackson, worked for two months to reach consensus among the Allies. Jackson`s energy, intelligence and leadership guided the London conference.

The jurisdiction of the Court of Justice has been exposed to section 6 of the Charter. This section defined the crimes that could be charged against the accused; Crimes against peace, war crimes and crimes against humanity. The agreement stipulates that States Parties that share an official language of the European Patent Office, i.e. English, French or German, no longer apply for the translation of European patents into one of their official languages. Other contracting states must choose one of the EPO`s official languages as the “prescribed language” in which European patents must be translated to enter into force in their countries. However, they reserve the right to require the claims to be translated into one of their official languages. The agreement was signed by ten countries: Denmark, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. To enter into force, ratification instruments had to be tabled by at least eight countries, including at least France, Germany and the United Kingdom.

Contact Info

Marica van der Meer Fotografie

Eize Speerstrastrjitte 4

8711 LB Workum

Phone : 06-14 534 773

Email :